Mount Kilimanjaro Trekking and Itineraries

“As wide as all the world, great, high and unbelievably white in the sun was the square top of Mount Kilimanjaro,” wrote Ernest Hemingway of the highest mountain in Africa, which rises to 5,895 meters above sea level. Situated near the town of Moshi in northern Tanzania, Mount Kilimanjaro rises from the dry plains, through a wide belt of forest and high alpine heath to an almost bare desert and finally, the snow-capped summit, Uhuru Peak, just 3 degrees south of the equator. One of the world’s highest free-standing mountains, Mt. Kilimanjaro is comprised of three extinct volcanoes: Kibo 5895 m (19340 ft.), Mawenzi 5149 m (16896 ft.), and Shira 3962 m (13000 ft.). The name itself is shrouded in mystery. It might mean Mountain of Light, Mountain of Greatness or Mountain of Caravans. The local people, the Wachagga tribe, call the whole massif- “Kilemakyaro” meaning “Our Mountain” with its highest point only Kipoo (now known as Kilimanjaro and its highest point Kibo or Uhuru Peak) for the familiar snowy peak that stands imperious, as overseer of the continent and the summit of Africa. Kilimanjaro is one of the world’s most accessible high summits, a beacon for visitors from around the world.

There are several different trails on Mt Kilimanjaro and a trek will take anywhere from five days to nine days. The biggest obstacle in succeeding to reach the summit is the lower amount of oxygen at higher altitudes. The bodies of most people (but not all) will make the adjustment but this adjustment does not happen quickly. So the longer you spend on the mountain, the higher your chance of being successful. Marangu Route is very different than the other routes in that the overnights are in basic huts with solar lighting as opposed to the other routes which are camping routes. Details of each itinerary are found below and we are always willing to give you advice on which itinerary will be best for you. 

5 Days Marangu Route

6 Days Marangu Route

6 Days Machame Route

7 Days Machame Route

7 Days Lemosho Route

8 Days Lemosho Route

6 Days Umbwe Route

6 Days Rongai Route

7 Days Rongai Route

7 Days Shira Route 

8 Days Northen Circuit

9 Days Northern Circuit

14 + 4 =